Map Reading And Land Navigation Lessons From A British Army Instructor

Useful links to all your navigation needs for the outdoors

Aaron Mitchell
1 min readDec 23, 2021
Photo Credit Aaron Mitchell — Taken at LLyn Cau, Cadiar Idris

Hey, my name is Aaron and I’m a map reading and land navigation instructor in the British Army.

I have a passion for the outdoors and love to teach this subject. I’ve decided to write a series of posts teaching you the theory on the fundamentals of this very useful skill. I will also explain how to apply this knowledge to your practical skills to hopefully make you a more rounded navigator when out on the trails.

Please bear with me as I produce more content. Any feedback would be welcomed. All the best.

More posts will become available as and when I get round to writing them up. Please bookmark this page and keep checking back. You can always check me out on Instagram and Facebook for any updates.

--

--

Aaron Mitchell

Mountain Leader & Freelance Instructor in Land Navigation and First Aid. British Army and once rode a motorcycle around the world.